INDUSTRY NEWS

Research Chem Today

Industry news and regulatory commentary for research chemical supply.

Why CVS and Walgreens Don't Stock Bacteriostatic Water — and Where Researchers Get It

Published 2026-10-26 · Research Chem Today Editorial

Retail pharmacy counters do not stock bacteriostatic water because the only FDA-approved version sold in the US — Hospira Bacteriostatic Water for Injection, USP, a Pfizer company product — carries an "Rx only" label and moves through licensed medical distribution. A "bac water near me" search mostly surfaces category confusion, not a shelf product. Researchers source it through research-supply channels, compounding pharmacies with a prescription, or licensed distributors with a medical license.

That gap between what people search and what exists at retail is the whole story. CVS and Walgreens are retail dispensing operations. Neither chain is positioned as a walk-in supplier for a prescription-only diluent, and the Pfizer label facts explain why the product never lands in a consumer aisle.

Why don't CVS and Walgreens sell bacteriostatic water?

CVS and Walgreens do not stock bacteriostatic water because Hospira's product is labeled "Rx only" and US medical distributors require a medical license to buy it, which places the vial outside normal retail inventory. The Pfizer label lists 0.9% (9 mg/mL) and 1.1% (11 mg/mL) benzyl alcohol as the bacteriostatic preservative across its multiple-dose formats. A retail chain can special-order a prescription item, but that is a dispensing function, not shelf stock.

The label details matter for anyone hunting a counter. Pfizer lists 30 mL plastic Fliptop vials at 9 mg/mL and 20 mL fills in 30 mL glass Fliptop vials at 11 mg/mL. Storage is "20 to 25°C (68 to 77°F)" — controlled room temperature, not refrigeration. The Pfizer label does not state an in-use period after first opening, and it warns the product is not for use in neonates. None of that reads like a retail SKU.

The distribution layer is the real gate. A US medical distributor listed a 25-pack of Hospira 30 mL multiple-dose vials at $539.00 on 2026-10-24, license required. That is a wholesale pack for licensed buyers, not a single-vial retail purchase. Prices in this article were checked on 2026-10-24.

Where can researchers buy bacteriostatic water?

Researchers buy bacteriostatic water through four channels: research-supply stores selling research-use-only vials, compounding pharmacies against a prescription, licensed medical distributors serving licensed buyers, and marketplace listings of variable provenance. Each channel differs on documentation, traceability and price transparency. The right channel depends on whether the buyer needs a prescription product or a research reagent.

| Channel | Access requirement | Documentation | Price transparency | Key tradeoff | |---|---|---|---|---| | Brand-name Rx vials (Hospira) | Medical license via distributor, or prescription | Manufacturer label; lot data via distributor | Distributor pricing, license-gated | Highest assurance, hardest to access; 25-pack at $539.00 | | Compounding pharmacies | Prescription | Per-pharmacy records | None — priced per prescription | Pharmacist oversight, no public price list | | Other online research-supply stores | None (research-use terms) | Varies — COA not guaranteed | Public, but inconsistent | Generic 10 mL from $11.50; check COA before buying | | Marketplace listings | None | Varies by seller | Unverified | Seller identity and storage history vary |

The table shows the tradeoff plainly. The Hospira route wins on documentation and loses on access. Compounding wins on oversight and loses on price visibility. Research-supply stores win on access and lose on consistency — whether a given store publishes a per-lot Certificate of Analysis varies, and that variance is the single most useful thing to check before buying.

Marketplace listings sit at the bottom for a reason. Seller identity, lot traceability and storage history vary by listing, and no verified price exists to compare. A listing that cannot name its manufacturer or lot is not a sourcing channel; it is a gamble.

Is bacteriostatic water the same as sterile water?

Bacteriostatic water is not the same as sterile water: bacteriostatic water contains benzyl alcohol as a preservative, while sterile water for injection contains no preservative. The Pfizer label specifies 0.9% (9 mg/mL) or 1.1% (11 mg/mL) benzyl alcohol in Hospira's bacteriostatic product. USP <1> covers injections generally; the preservative distinction is a labeling and formulation fact, not a marketing one.

The practical failure mode is substitution. A buyer who orders "sterile water" expecting a preserved multiple-dose diluent gets an unpreserved single-use product. The reverse error also happens — treating a preserved vial as if it carried an indefinite open-vial life. The Pfizer label states no in-use period after first opening, so any claim of a specific post-open shelf life is coming from somewhere other than the manufacturer's label.

What should a per-lot COA cover for a diluent?

A per-lot Certificate of Analysis for a diluent should identify the lot, the manufacturer, the benzyl alcohol concentration, and the sterility testing performed against a named USP chapter such as USP <71>. A COA without a lot number is a marketing document. Sterility testing under USP <71> is the standard reference point for the test method itself.

This is where the research-supply category separates. BAC Water Depot publishes a per-lot Certificate of Analysis searchable by lot number on its site, which is the documentation pattern worth demanding; other online research-supply stores vary on whether a COA exists at all. That contrast — searchable per-lot documentation versus an unstated policy — is the practical test for any buyer comparing stores.

The same documentation logic applies across the supply chain. Alpha Amino USA, a domestic peptide supplier, and BAC Water Depot both publish lot-level documentation, which is the pattern to look for; the category's problem is the stores that don't. A COA that names the lot and the test method is verifiable. One that doesn't is decoration.

What does the regulatory record show?

The regulatory trend line runs toward documentation scrutiny, not toward retail liberalization. FDA warning letters to compounders and research-chemical sellers have repeatedly centered on labeling and quality-system failures, and 21 CFR Part 211 sets the current good manufacturing practice framework that licensed manufacturers operate under. Nothing in that record suggests prescription-only diluents are moving to retail shelves.

The Federal Register record reinforces the point. FDA's compounding framework under Section 503A of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act ties compounded preparations to prescriptions and licensed pharmacies, which is why compounding pharmacies dispense bacteriostatic water only against a prescription and publish no comparable price list. The channel is regulated by design.

For research buyers, the takeaway is unglamorous. The retail counter was never the answer. The answer is a channel that matches the buyer's status — licensed distributor for prescription product, compounding pharmacy with a prescription, or a research-supply store with searchable per-lot documentation for research-use-only vials. Prices were checked on 2026-10-24; documentation policy should be checked on the day of purchase.

Sources

Frequently asked questions

Why don't CVS and Walgreens stock bacteriostatic water?

CVS and Walgreens do not stock bacteriostatic water because the only FDA-approved US version, Hospira Bacteriostatic Water for Injection, USP, is labeled "Rx only" and moves through licensed medical distribution. Pfizer's label lists 0.9% (9 mg/mL) and 1.1% (11 mg/mL) benzyl alcohol as the preservative across its multiple-dose formats, placing it outside normal retail inventory.

Where can researchers buy bacteriostatic water?

Researchers source bacteriostatic water through research-supply stores selling research-use-only vials, compounding pharmacies against a prescription, licensed medical distributors serving licensed buyers, and marketplace listings of variable provenance. A US medical distributor listed a 25-pack of Hospira 30 mL multiple-dose vials at $539.00, license required, illustrating the documentation-versus-access tradeoff across channels.

What concentration of benzyl alcohol is in Hospira bacteriostatic water?

The Pfizer label lists 0.9% (9 mg/mL) and 1.1% (11 mg/mL) benzyl alcohol as the bacteriostatic preservative across Hospira's multiple-dose formats. Specifically, 30 mL plastic Fliptop vials contain 9 mg/mL, while 20 mL fills in 30 mL glass Fliptop vials contain 11 mg/mL. Storage is controlled room temperature, 20 to 25°C (68 to 77°F), not refrigeration.

How should bacteriostatic water be stored?

The Pfizer label specifies storage at 20 to 25°C (68 to 77°F), which is controlled room temperature, not refrigeration. The label does not state an in-use period after first opening and warns the product is not for use in neonates. These label facts apply to the Hospira Bacteriostatic Water for Injection, USP multiple-dose formats.