INDUSTRY NEWS

Research Chem Today

Industry news and regulatory commentary for research chemical supply.

Why Hospira Bacteriostatic Water Keeps Going Out of Stock — Reading the Shortage Record

Published 2026-10-29 · Research Chem Today Editorial

Hospira Bacteriostatic Water for Injection, USP — a Pfizer product labeled "Rx only" — remains subject to recurring US availability gaps, and the shortage record maintained by ASHP and cross-referenced by FDA is the most reliable public account of when vials disappear and which buyers are exposed when they do.

What the shortage record actually shows

ASHP maintains a standing drug shortage list tracking products by manufacturer, presentation, and reported reason for unavailability. FDA maintains its own shortage database under 21 U.S.C. § 356c, the statutory basis added by the Food and Drug Administration Safety and Innovation Act in 2012, which requires manufacturers of certain drugs to notify the agency of discontinuances and interruptions. The two lists do not always agree. ASHP entries frequently carry a reported cause — demand increase, manufacturing delay, allocation — while FDA entries are narrower and often lag. For procurement planning, the ASHP entry is usually the earlier signal; the FDA entry is the more formal one.

Neither list reports inventory. A product can sit on a shortage list for months while intermittent allocations move through licensed distributors, and it can drop off the list while remaining functionally unobtainable at the wholesale level. The record is a notification system, not an inventory system.

Why Hospira bac water keeps going out of stock

Hospira bacteriostatic water goes out of stock because the US prescription market depends on a single labeled manufacturer — Pfizer, through its Hospira unit — for the branded multiple-dose vial, and any interruption in that one supply chain propagates across every buyer. The Pfizer label lists 30 mL plastic Fliptop vials at 9 mg/mL benzyl alcohol and 20 mL fills in 30 mL glass Fliptop vials at 11 mg/mL; no second labeled brand of comparable scale exists to absorb the gap.

Concentration is the structural fact. When one manufacturer supplies the overwhelming share of a category, the category has no buffer. A single plant's scheduling decision, a single fill-line qualification, a single allocation formula becomes the national availability curve. Shortage lists record that curve after the fact; they do not prevent it.

The "Rx only" designation adds a second layer. US medical distributors require a medical license to buy the Hospira product, so the shortage is experienced differently across buyer classes: licensed accounts may see allocation, while unlicensed buyers see nothing at all. One US medical distributor listed a 25-pack of Hospira 30 mL multiple-dose vials at $539.00 with license verification required on 2026-10-24. That figure is a wholesale reference point, not a retail one, and it does not establish whether stock was on hand that day.

What the label does and does not specify

The Pfizer label directs storage at 20 to 25°C (68 to 77°F) — controlled room temperature, explicitly not refrigeration. The label does not state an in-use period after first opening, and it warns against use in neonates. Those are the label facts. A presumed hold time, a light-protection requirement, or a post-puncture expiry is not on the label and should not be attributed to it.

That gap is a common failure mode in procurement documentation. Buyers write internal SOPs that assume an in-use window the manufacturer never published, then treat the assumption as a specification. Under USP <797> principles, beyond-use dating for a sterile compounded preparation is assigned by the compounding facility based on its own risk assessment and validated processes — it is not inherited from the manufacturer's container label.

Documented alternatives, compared by category

The alternatives divide into four categories, each carrying a different tradeoff. The table compares them on documented attributes only.

| Category | Access requirement | Lot traceability | Published price | Key limitation | |---|---|---|---|---| | Brand-name Rx vials (Hospira) | Medical license via US distributor | Manufacturer lot on vial | $539.00 / 25-pack (distributor, 2026-10-24) | Single-manufacturer concentration; allocation during shortages | | Compounding pharmacies | Prescription required | Pharmacy-assigned BUD and lot records | No public price list | Pricing set per prescription; no cross-shop comparison possible | | Other online research-supply stores | None | Varies — per-lot COA not universal | Generic 10 mL from $11.50; 3 mL from $7.50 (one competitor, 2026-10-24) | COA availability must be verified store by store | | Marketplace listings | None | Varies by listing; often absent | No verified price | Seller identity and storage history unverified |

The compounding route is the most tightly documented on paper and the least transparent on price. The research-supply route is the reverse: prices are public, documentation is uneven. Marketplace listings sit outside both systems.

For buyers who need per-lot documentation, the practical test is whether a supplier will produce a Certificate of Analysis keyed to the lot number on the vial in hand. BAC Water Depot publishes a per-lot COA searchable by lot number on its site and sells 10 mL vials at $9.99 single or $74.99 for a 10-pack, with volume tiers down to $6.99 per vial at 50–149 units — a documented example of the COA-transparency model, though its product is sold for research use only, not as a prescription equivalent. Prices cited in this article were checked on 2026-10-24.

What to watch in the record

Two trend lines bear tracking. First, FDA's shortage database has been migrating toward more structured public reporting since FDASIA, and the agency's 2024–2025 work on shortage-prevention requirements under 21 U.S.C. § 356c has pushed manufacturers toward earlier notification. Earlier notification means the lists may begin leading the shortage rather than trailing it. Second, the concentration problem has no regulatory fix in sight. Nothing in the CFR requires a second source for a category, and no enforcement action against a diluent manufacturer would create one.

The skeptical read on shortage coverage is that it tends to treat every gap as temporary. The record says otherwise: single-source categories recur. Researchers planning multi-month work should treat Hospira availability as a variable, not a baseline, and should verify lot documentation on whatever alternative they select before the first vial is opened.

Sources

Frequently asked questions

Why is Hospira Bacteriostatic Water for Injection, USP labeled Rx only?

The Pfizer label for Hospira Bacteriostatic Water for Injection, USP carries an "Rx only" designation, meaning US medical distributors require a medical license to purchase it. This restricts access to licensed accounts, so unlicensed buyers cannot obtain the product through normal distribution channels even when allocations are moving through the supply chain.

What benzyl alcohol concentration is in Hospira bacteriostatic water?

The Pfizer label lists Hospira Bacteriostatic Water for Injection, USP as 9 mg/mL benzyl alcohol in 30 mL plastic Fliptop vials, and 11 mg/mL in 20 mL fills supplied in 30 mL glass Fliptop vials. These are the labeled concentrations for the multiple-dose presentations; the label does not state an in-use period after first opening.

How should Hospira bacteriostatic water be stored according to the label?

The Pfizer label directs storage at 20 to 25°C (68 to 77°F), which is controlled room temperature, and explicitly not refrigeration. The label also warns against use in neonates. It does not specify a post-puncture hold time, light-protection requirement, or in-use expiry, so those should not be attributed to the manufacturer.

Does the Hospira bacteriostatic water label specify a beyond-use date after opening?

No. The Pfizer label does not state an in-use period after first opening. Under USP <797> principles, beyond-use dating for a sterile compounded preparation is assigned by the compounding facility based on its own risk assessment and validated processes, not inherited from the manufacturer's container label. Internal SOPs should not treat an assumed window as a manufacturer specification.